View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Apr 10, 2011 5:38 am

Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Redarc Electric Brake controller 

Post Redarc Electric Brake controller
Has anyone used one of these controllers.

Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:13 pm

Yes mate, I have a redarc fitted and have towed two diferent vans with it.
Never had a problem and is very easy to adjust for braking pressure.
Just note that both of my vans were fairly light in weight, so cant comment on performance of heavy vans, but maybe weight of van doesnt come into it anyway.

Cheers Jabba

Things are so bad that Kevin07 is thinking of turning off the light at the end of the tunnel.

Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:16 am

I have been using one now for over 5 years and find it head and shoulders above whatever else in in the marketplace.I have used two Tekonsha models previously and alongside the Redarc they are dogs.

Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:52 pm

Post auto reset cb
Gibbo wrote:
I have been using one now for over 5 years and find it head and shoulders above whatever else in in the marketplace.I have used two Tekonsha models previously and alongside the Redarc they are dogs.

Gibbo,
I Now have the Prodigy which I find really good.
I had the prodigy fitted by an Auto Electrician and on my first trip I lost my brakes in the Adelaide Hills. The fuse blew. It is supposed to have an auto reset circuit breaker NOT a fuse. I took it back to him and he fitted one as it stated on the cct diagram. No apology, lucky I have a manual diesel and used engine braking.

Cheers,
Bill

Wed Dec 09, 2009 4:04 pm

Post Redarc
Thanks for the info
bruce

Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:39 pm

Gibbo,
I used the tekonsha on my old van, it wasn't much good, it was hard to adjust. I was either locking up or not braking enough. Then the manual override stopped working.
Now have the Prodigy which I find really good.