We're off again

Chat to fellow Rvers about general topics
Frank & Brenda
Location: Aldinga Beach SA (in the Fleurieu peninsula)12 Mistubishi Triton, 1996 J-co DISCOVERY 18' poptop

We're off again

Post by Frank & Brenda » Sat May 13, 2017 9:55 am

G'day all,
As a lot of you know I'm in a part time job only to top up the pension I can take time off and the boss holds the job for me till I get back, I've been doing this now for 10 years but because my time off is longer than 6 weeks it "breaks" my service so I don't get long service leave, but I don't care, I still get time off

When I take time off we follow our passion which is caravanning, the van is set up for free camping and we are fully self sufficient, travelling on the pension we can't afford to stay in caravan parks all the time

This time I finish work on the 1st of June and we'll be heading off about 10-12 days later heading for the top end of Qld and making our way down to possibly as far as Sydney and I'm due back at work for the start of term 4, so we'll have about 5 months of travel

As Brenda has a chronic back injury we only travel 150-250km a day and often stop in one place for a few days for her to recoup, well be heading for broken Hill, Wilcannia then onto the Kidman highway and up inland across to Mt Isa then head for Cairns and hopefully get up to the Cape if Brenda is up to it, we'll then work our way down

I'll probably look in on here from time to time but we're depending on Optus phone coverage and Wi-Fi hotspots so don't know when or where we'll be

Might get a chance to catch up with some of you on the trip but with our travel situation it's nigh on impossible to make plans, we never book in advance anywhere as at the last minute we may have to cancel, all it takes is for Brenda to take a wrong step and we have to stop everything for 2-5 days

Anyway if you don't hear from me for a while that's why, but I will be back

Shaggy Dog

Re: We're off again