Poor man’s prescription sunnies

Share your inventions, innovations & ideas – words are good but images are GREAT!
Old Techo
Over 10 kay Club

Poor man’s prescription sunnies

Post by Old Techo » Sun Jun 12, 2016 10:04 am

For decades I have used only Polaroid or polarised sunglasses. Bright sunshine makes me sneeze and with most brands of sunnies they are not good enough in keeping light out from the sides. The only ones that do are sold by the Cancer Council. These are a proper wrap-around design with side panels :D

The issue that arises is when prescription glasses are needed for driving. Yes, you can get prescription sunnies – maybe even with polarised lenses. However I have not found any with a wrap-around to match the Cancer Council version but these are not available in prescription.

My solution was to attach my prescription distance glasses (with the arms removed) to my preferred sunnies. I have been using these combined glasses for several years.

Sure, it may look a bit agricultural but it works. The main combining structural member is a cable tie in the centre. A small blob of Blu Tak at each end completes the stability job.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards, Old Techo
2007 Prado Grande Diesel Auto
2004 Roadstar Limited Edition

TramcarTrev
Cracked the big time

Re: Poor man’s prescription sunnies

Post by TramcarTrev » Sun Jun 12, 2016 10:32 am

A novel solution to the problem….

OPSM will fit script lenses to Cancer Council frames provided the lens required is not such that it needs a special frame.
Specsavers will do likewise and supplied me with multifocal lenses for CC frames and the lenses are polarised…. Cost was $99 plus the CC sunnies to start…
Blogs;

http://trevs-tramway.blogspot.com.au/
I do have a travel blog for Australia and Asia. Acess it through my profile.

Archer63
An old hand

Post by Archer63 » Sun Jun 12, 2016 1:19 pm