View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Feb 23, 2011 4:03 am

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 lr licence 

Post lr licence
Hi all, we are purchasing a new custom built motorhome, it will be built next year. I am a disabled driver and the problem is I have to get the LR licence before I pick the vehicle up. I live in Newcastle and the MH is being built in Victoria. just wondered if anyone has been in the same or similar situation or if anyone can offer some advice

Tony

Sun Sep 26, 2010 6:20 pm

Post Re: lr licence
Tony,

You will need to obtain a LR/MR licence before you pick it up. You can either checkout your local yellow pages for an individual or a company that is a licenced assesor for the RTA. You will need to visit the RTA and place in an application for a LR licence. This will cost you money.
Before you get your log books you will need to sit a computer exam on general road rules and truck based questions.
You can use the RTA website to access the questions that will be asked and you can take the trial test in your own time and as many times as you like regardless wether you get them right or wrong.
You will be required to take the actual test at your local RTA office and if you pass the test you will then be given an eyesight test and a log book which you will hand to you assesor to fill out as he or she takes you through your assement of your driving skills. This assesment part will take about 5 hours plus and will cost you about $700.

When you find an assesor I am sure they will take you through all the requirments that you need to carry out.

Hope this answer some of your queries.

John

Sun Sep 26, 2010 8:41 pm

Ersko wrote:
Tony,

You will need to obtain a LR/MR licence before you pick it up. You can either checkout your local yellow pages for an individual or a company that is a licenced assesor for the RTA. You will need to visit the RTA and place in an application for a LR licence. This will cost you money.