Are there enough dump points?

Freedom to explore this great country the way we want to
Boroma577

Re: Are there enough dump points?

Post by Boroma577 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:43 pm

dieseltojo wrote:Hi Joseph ,
1. I reckon that there are never enough dump points available for the travelling caravaner/motor homer. Being a plumber I know that it is not hard to build these things into the existing toilets that are already available. It saves having to use a toilet facility and all the cleaning down associated with that internal dumping.
2. I would say just plain lack of understanding of the needs of the public. The non realisation that these facilities attract travellers.
3. When free camping we just let the water run to some nearby trees, if we are isolated. When in town and having to get mobile, if no dump points are within cooee, I see nothing with stopping in an isolated spot ( out of town and off the road), and running the water to a tree. The purpose of a holding tank is not to flood a permanent or popular area. Letting the water go in an off the beaten track spot wouldn’t be a problem.

I presume you are referring to 'grey' water here dieseltojo

dieseltojo

Post by dieseltojo » Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:50 pm

Joseph vW wrote:Hi DT,

Thanks for your input - looks like you snunk in while I was replying to MH.

Code: Select all

When free camping we just let the water run to some nearby trees, if we are isolated. When in town and having to get mobile, if no dump points are within cooee, I see nothing with stopping in an isolated spot ( out of town and off the road), and running the water to a tree. The purpose of a holding tank is not to flood a permanent or popular area. Letting the water go in an off the beaten track spot wouldn’t be a problem.
Do you dispose of black water this way or just grey water? The latter I can understand, not sure I agree with handling black water this way. Can you elaborate?

Cheers,
Sorry Joseph, old age,