View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:21 am

Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Jump starting the tug 

Post Jump starting the tug
I have a question for the 'brains trust'.
If the battery in my tug (100 series landcruiser, 1HZ motor) goes flat will I be able to start it with a Jump Start - 1900 Amp (Heavy Duty) unit? Is there enough power in this unit to jump start the diesel tug ? I need to know the answer prior to purchasing a 1900 Amp Unit. As you can tell by my question I'm not very tech savvy, but your advice and opinions will be greatly appreciated. blackdwarf

Fri Feb 04, 2011 9:44 am

Post Re: Jump starting the tug
Do you have a link to the specific unit?

It takes a lot to get the old 1HZ's turning over, normal (aka cheap) jumper leads don't usually do the job from dead flat.

Unless it's quite a heft unit I'm going to say no, it probably wont.

Best to fit a dual battery system to the 100 Series, some controllers have the ability to add a "Jump Start" button to the dash which will let you jump start the vehicle off the 2nd battery should the need arise.

If you have batteries fitted to your van and you're venturing into areas away from help it's best (in your case) to make sure they're N70 in dimension with the +ve and -ve terminals in the same orientation as your vehicle. This will let you remove the battery from your caravan to use in your vehicle in an emergency/breakdown situation.

It's only a matter of a bit of thought at ordering time to have an extra redundancy option.

Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:41 am

Thanks Sean. I have added the address for the unit. http://media.supercheapauto.com.au/sca/ ... -thumb.jpg According to my research this one appears to be the biggest one available. The second battery idea is good but a bit expensive .............more food for thought though

Fri Feb 04, 2011 1:05 pm

I've gotta agree with Sean on this one - dual battery setup the only way to go.