View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 5:55 pm

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Repairs To Trail-A-Mate 

Post Repairs To Trail-A-Mate
I have an 18 month old Trail A Mate that has just cashed in its chips.
Whilst away for a month it failed to jack up, nothing happens when I pump the handle (or better still it jacked up on jacking up).
I rang the distributer in S.A. and they advised me the only repairers in NSW are at Orange and Tweed Heads, no one in Sydney(?).
Has anyone had repairs done in Sydney or obtained a kit and carried out the repair themselves?
It can't be that involved.
It would cost a motza to send it to either of those places, they weigh .....well very heavy!
Regards
Keith.

Fri Nov 05, 2010 7:16 pm

Post Re: Repairs To Trail-A-Mate
Hi Keith,
I am not an expert. But have a look at the screw valve and make sure that it is sealing when you screw it in.

Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:08 pm

Keith wrote:
I have an 18 month old Trail A Mate that has just cashed in its chips.
Whilst away for a month it failed to jack up, nothing happens when I pump the handle (or better still it jacked up on jacking up).
I rang the distributer in S.A. and they advised me the only repairers in NSW are at Orange and Tweed Heads, no one in Sydney(?).
Has anyone had repairs done in Sydney or obtained a kit and carried out the repair themselves?
It can't be that involved.
It would cost a motza to send it to either of those places, they weigh .....well very heavy!
Regards
Keith.

Hi Keith
I have repaired a Trail A Mate jack and got the seals etc plus a DVD on how to go about the job from SA. They were very helpful. The jacks are not made here in Australia like they used to be so there my be a problem there.
The other alternative is to disassemble the jack and get the seals from a hydraulics place.

Chris

Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:17 pm